New PB! – British Athletics European Trials & UK Championships

British Athletics European Trials & UK Championships

This weekend I was running at British Athletics European Trials & UK Championships.

Saturday I was running in the 60m. In the heats I came second in 6.84 to James Dasaolu‘s 6.68, it felt like I had a good start, however my usual pick up and finish weren’t as apparent as usual.

The semi-finals were a lot better, I got a reaction time of 0.185 which set me up for my best start of the season, however for some reason my pick up wasn’t on point which didn’t help my finish. I crossed the line in 4th with 6.81 (last year’s PB) getting me through to my first 60m final at a UK champs!

The final was a similar story to the heats, got another good start however struggled to pick up with the rest of the field, however managed to dig-in for a strong finish, crossing the line in 5th place clocking a time of 6.77 (just off my PB).

Sunday I was running in the 200m. I was feeling quite nervous for the heat of the 200m as the qualification was 1st place from each of the 4 heats and 1 fastest loser spot going through to the final. Being on the outside lane and having Antonio Infantino in the lane inside of me, I knew I had to run out of my skin to qualify automatically. I had a good start, but slow reaction time, however I had a great pick up coming off the first bend, and was able to hold my speed round the second bend to cross the line in first position with a new indoor PB of 21.37! I was exhausted though!

Final, I was running against Chris Clarke in the lane outside me, so again I knew that I had to run with him to contest him in the final. I got off to a better and smoother start, picking up well down the back straight, keeping with Chris, however his 400m strength started to carry him through approaching the last bend, leading him to cross the line in a awesome time of 20.96!  I cross the line swiftly afterwards to take the silver in a time of 21.29, another PB!

British Athletics commented on my performance on the weekend

European outdoor finalist Chris Clarke (Steve Fudge) took the men’s equivalent with a fine 20.96 personal best ahead of Andre Wright (Harry King), who improved from fourth place last year to take the silver a day after finishing fifth in the 60m final. (see the full report here).

Leave a Reply

